This ‘n That…………….TV dinners and eating in general

      I’ve become somewhat of a fan of TV dinners, especially those by Healthy Choice, Lean Cuisine, and Banquet Meals. Although, the word banquet is somewhat out of place for those meals. Marie Calendar, Claim Jumper and a few others are excellent, but outside my scope, as you’ll see in a bit.

     The appealing things about TV Dinners in the first group are the wide variety, portion control, reasonable calorie count, price, and finally convenience.

     If I fix up, say, a box of Rice-A-Roni along with some steamed carrots and a slice or two of leftover pork roast from the freezer, I end up with (for me, at least) and enormous amount of rice left over since I’m only going to dish up 1/2 cup. Maybe I’ll find reason to eat the other four servings of Rice-A-Roni before it starts growing fuzzy gray and green hairy stuff in the ‘fridge. It hardly seems worthwhile to steam one carrot. What would I do with the rest of a cauliflower head? Broccoli I can buy in small amounts, but it fits into the carrot question of effort.

     I have put together my own TV dinners when I get carried away and absolutely must charcoal grill a steak, or pork chops, or chicken. There’s the other problem, firing up a batch of charcoal for one pork chop, or a chicken thigh….

     That, of course is all related to portion control. Which, at this time, is somewhat important to me. Over the past several weeks, I’ve managed to shed 11 pounds. My eventual goal is another 20 or 30…maybe more. Part of that has been portion control. If it ain’t on the table, I ain’t gonna eat it.

      Of course, portion control goes hand in hand with calorie count. That extra 1/4 cup of ‘taters and gravy is an extra 150 calories. Harkening back to my days youthful transgressions, I remember many an instance of kicked shins because I was not eating properly. The trick to avoiding bruised shins was to chew, chew, chew……., and chew — somehow I seem to remember the number 50 involved. That and the folklore than proper chewing prevented such unpleasantness as constipation because it mixed the enzymes properly.  Along with that was the requirement to set my fork properly on the edge of my plate whilst masticating.

            This little exercise in putting down the fork helps a lot. I’ve been doing some people watching in restaurants. It’s difficult to do that covertly. Most men I’ve watched chewed only 3 to 5 times before they packed another forkful into their face as they swallow. Typical table time, less than ten minutes after their meal arrived.

      My goal is at least 30 minutes.

 So, until next time,

     Bon Appetite,

 the GOG