This ‘n That…… Well, I Did It Again

    Today marked the beginning of another two year period for my aviation medical status. A Federal Aviation Administration’s designated Aviation Medical Examiner in Lancaster, California, poked, prodded, and peeked into various bodily orfices and, with a review of my local physicians written comments, signed off on my Third Class Medical certificate. Once passed age 40 (I’m not quite double that) us aviators are required to take a flight physical every two years to retain our private pilots license.

     The requalification period is shorter for airline transport pilots or other commercial flying privileges. I wasn’t much concerned about passing it. Especially since I had a checkup with my local doctor just last week. But there is always that nagging…”What If” question.

     So, I’m good to go until April 2012.